RAK…what a wonderful idea.

23 Nov

My friend Opal gave me a virtual ‘poke’ today so that I could participate in a RAK by a member of Ravelry. What a wonderful idea she has had, she is giving away one of her patterns, Stained Glass Shawlette, in memory of her mother whose birthday was November 24th.

This has given me the idea to do this very same thing, I am going to design and write a pattern in Memory of my sister Katrina who passed away 15 years ago when she was just 28. So keep a look out for it as on the 24th of December which was her birthday, I will be posting the pattern for free…….just for that day and Christmas day….I’d better get on with it though as I only have a month! That’s not very long to get a pattern made, written and tested.

I have become enamoured by altered books of late and have slowly collected up the supplies to have a go at making one myself. I am all ready to go now and today will be making a start, although I really wanted to make an altered book based on Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter but I haven’t found an old copy of it yet so this one will just have to be about practice. I just love these book though, take a look at my Pinterest Board here and tell me what you think. I only have a few pins on it so far but I think they are gorgeous and what a great use for old neglected books. This blog has a great tutorial on how to go about making these pieces of art, and so does this one, take a look at her gorgeous work…….and I still haven’t worked out how to insert an image from another site!

It is Thanksgiving in the US so Happy Thanksgiving to all my American friends I hope you have a lovely weekend.

4 Responses to “RAK…what a wonderful idea.”

  1. procrastaknit November 23, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    What a beautiful idea!

  2. Opal @ Playing with Fiber November 27, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the death of your sister, but how nice that you’ll remember her in this way. I look forward to see what you create. I know it’ll be lovely.

    I think I’ll be participating in the RAK, I’m thinking I’ll be giving away homemade soaps, and perhaps a few other things too. 🙂

    • sarahscrochet November 28, 2012 at 7:14 am #

      Thanks Opal, I was really pleased to see this idea as postage is really expensive from Australia so it makes it difficult to give things away. This is a way I can RAK without the expense 🙂 Thank you for posting about it.

Leave a Reply

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Design Wars Challenge

Crochet Challenges For Crochet Lovers

AAA Support

AAA Support Blog

Valerie Baber Designs - Intricate Knits

My Knitting and Crochet Adventures in Design with a touch of Style.

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

woolhogs

colouring your world, one stitch at a time

Crochet Missy

My Crochet Journey

Denise in Detail

Things that make me tick

Gippsland Granny

Musings from Metung

Oh Sew Tempting

All things patchwork and quilting ...........

Crochet & Knit Design Heaven

a place to find beautiful knitting and crochet patterns

James James Morrison Morrison

A place to procrastinate when you really should be folding washing

DaniellaJoe's Blog

crochet is my favorite fiber art and my goal is to become a real artist...

bipolarblogging

Bipolar life and times

Button Tins

A bit of crafty talk

Aberrant Crochet (TM)

For the OffBeat World...

Map of Time | A Trip Into the Past

Navigating Through Someplace Called History

