Learning something new.

16 Nov

Well life has got in the way of this blog the last couple of days….so much for nablopomo…back to it though 🙂

I teach a crochet class on a Thursday morning at a craft group I attend and this morning while I was there I was struck by the satisfaction people feel when they achieve something new…especially if  it’s something they thought they couldn’t do.

There are several things available to learn at craft and students sign up for whatever they like…the thing about this is that you have students of all ages and experience. For the crochet classes there are people who are wonderful, experience crochetesr and who just like the pattern and want to make it, there are also students who can only do a chain st and nothing else.

This term I decided to teach this….

Now if you can crochet you will probably recognise this as Bavarian crochet, not a beginners pattern by any stretch of the imagination!

I am a big believer in that you can do anything you want to if you take it slow and work one stitch at a time and I decided in all my wisdom when I started this that I wouldn’ t turn anyone away if they wanted to learn. I kept this policy up this term and got my usual mixture of students…….after a few weeks I was starting to think I’d bitten off more than I could chew as there were a few students in my class who were very much beginners when they started this cowl and who were really struggling with the concepts…after all it’s a lot to learn if you’ve only ever done a chain stitch before. It has warmed my heart every week to watch the more experienced ladies pitch in to help the less capable crocheters try to understand this stitch.

This morning I went to craft willing to concede defeat and admit to these few students that perhaps we should start with something easier then go back to the cowl next year……Well I was amazed, every single beginner student had got it! It was like the penny had dropped over the last week and I had one person after another coming to proudly show me their cowls. The thing that really struck me was the pride and achievement felt by every one of these women who had managed to master a very difficult stitch just through their own perseverance.

Every single one of these women young and old had felt like giving up in previous weeks …I left craft this morning grinning from ear to ear and also having learned a very valuable lesson and that is that we can learn anything if we don’t give up and keep persevering. It was wonderful and I can’t wait until next week when we start on the wrist warmers….lol.

2 Responses to “Learning something new.”

  1. Opal @ Playing with Fiber November 16, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Good for them, perseverance is key. All too often, people give up way too early. Some people need to remember, that at times certain things won’t be easy to complete, but if you have the right tools/info usually it can be accomplished, it just might take some time.

    • sarahscrochet November 17, 2012 at 7:24 am #

      It is so true that a lot of people give up too soon, we should all be more like babies learning to walk….keep trying and never give up 🙂

Leave a Reply

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Design Wars Challenge

Crochet Challenges For Crochet Lovers

AAA Support

AAA Support Blog

Valerie Baber Designs - Intricate Knits

My Knitting and Crochet Adventures in Design with a touch of Style.

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

woolhogs

colouring your world, one stitch at a time

Crochet Missy

My Crochet Journey

Denise in Detail

Things that make me tick

Gippsland Granny

Musings from Metung

Oh Sew Tempting

All things patchwork and quilting ...........

Crochet & Knit Design Heaven

a place to find beautiful knitting and crochet patterns

James James Morrison Morrison

A place to procrastinate when you really should be folding washing

DaniellaJoe's Blog

crochet is my favorite fiber art and my goal is to become a real artist...

bipolarblogging

Bipolar life and times

Button Tins

A bit of crafty talk

Aberrant Crochet (TM)

For the OffBeat World...

Map of Time | A Trip Into the Past

Navigating Through Someplace Called History

