Ideas please…

11 May

Ok well, I’m looking for ideas…..what sort of crochet designs are people looking for? Do you have something specific that you’d like to see out there….here is your chance to say. I’m not promising anything mind but I’d really like to know so there is a random draw for a free pattern from my store ….anyone who comments here will be place in the draw for a chance.

I would love it if you would comment on my facebook page as I have just started it and really need some traffic but feel free to comment here if you would rather, you will still be entered into the random draw.

At the moment I just design what I feel like but it will be interesting to know what other people like. I was looking at this post and thought that is sounds like I have no ideas but I really do have more ideas than I can make I’m just really interested in what other people like.

7 Responses to “Ideas please…”

  1. Nice piece of work May 11, 2013 at 6:58 am #

    It’s actually a good question – why DO I buy the patterns I buy, especially when there are free patterns for just about everything on the net? Plus I have a good few crochet books in my bookcase. Here is my answer:

    In the last five days, I have bought 4 crochet patterns through two etsy shops. The first purchase was essential – I had an order for mens’ slippers and had never made any, and didn’t want to waste time trying to figure out adaptations to the womens’ slipper pattern I already had (bought on etsy, recommended by a fellow blogger). So I bought the men’s pattern and noticed that, if I bought 3 patterns, I would save money. And since I had tried and tested one pattern and been happy with it, the chances are that I would like all her work. I made something once that a fellow market trader commented on, and she asked me why on earth I had paid for the pattern instead of trawling the net and finding a free one. My answer was that a designer would spend AGES working on the pattern, getting it just right, having it tested, etc etc, which I imagine is a great deal of work and something I am most certainly not cut out for, not having much patience! Trawling the net for just the exactly right pattern can take DAYS, and often doesn’t turn out anything like the picture. And the cost of a pattern is between R30 and R55 (that’s South African rand), which isn’t really a big ask. I mean, a packet of 20 cigarettes costs R32 now.
    The fourth pattern I purchased was one of yours, as you know, for a shawl. I already have many shawl patterns, some of which were free, and have used a few of them (I love shawls, and sometimes sell them, too, so no problem there). Did I really need another one? I guess the answer is No, but dammit, I WANTED it because your design is just the kind of shawl I like (not too deep at the back, I hate a ginormous V) and the edging was particularly attractive. It was reasonably priced, so that wasn’t going to break the bank, and I know I will make it one day (probably quite soon). To be honest, it was also slightly impulsive in the sense that, there You are, a person just like me, starting up again, trying to get something creative off the ground, and it’s nice to be able to support a fellow crafter. I know that $4 au dollars isn’t going to cover your groceries for the month, but it’s a gesture. At the same time, I gain, too, because I now have your lovely pattern :-) I have been supported by many people in starting my little venture, not all of whom necessarily realise what their purchase or their advice or other help meant to me at the time. A bit of encouragement goes a long way, and sadly, it’s often one’s own internal voice that is the most critical and negative. I have to try to block out my inner critic every single day, and that’s when what other people say and do makes all the difference.
    I see you don’t have many Likes yet on your facebook page – but you’ve JUST started. It will build up. And you can direct people to your etsy shop with pride – you have a really good range of patterns, and your photos are exceptional (I guess the beautiful models help!!)
    And now I realise, after all that woffling on, that I didn’t actually answer your question – hahaha, typical of me. I’m going to give it more thought and get back to you. It’s 11pm now, waaaaay past my bedtime!!

    • sarahscrochet May 11, 2013 at 7:21 am #

      Ahh Jill, you are a gem and this is such a useful comment to me as a designer…even though it didn’t answer the original question….Thank you so much both for purchasing my pattern and for understanding the amount of work that actually goes into producing one…not many people do really. I also thank you for your lovely comments about my patterns and my shop…you have made my day :D

  2. mandasiefert39 May 12, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    Reblogged this on starfire8me and commented:
    I would LOVE to see AND learn the shell crochet!!!

    • sarahscrochet May 12, 2013 at 7:08 am #

      Thank you so much for the re-blog :)…I love the look of shell crochet…. Coincidentally enough I am working on something using this stitch at the moment.

  3. J. G. Burdette May 12, 2013 at 5:56 am #

    Personally, I’d like to see a “summer” weight 1920s cloche pattern. Something along the lines of this but more lightweight: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/boutique-ribbed-cable-cloche—crochet-version

    Just my thoughts! :D

    • sarahscrochet May 12, 2013 at 7:05 am #

      That’s a gorgeous cloche…something done in a lighter cotton might work :)

Leave a Reply

AAA Support

AAA Support Blog

Intricate Knits

My Knitting and Crochet Adventures in Design with a touch of Style.

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

woolhogs

colouring your world, one stitch at a time

Crochet Missy

My Crochet Journey

Gippsland Granny

Musings from Metung

Oh Sew Tempting

All things patchwork and quilting ...........

Crochet & Knit Design Heaven

a place to find beautiful knitting and crochet patterns

James James Morrison Morrison

A place to procrastinate when you really should be folding washing

DaniellaJoe's Blog

crochet is my favorite fiber art and my goal is to become a real artist...

Nice piece of work

Experiments in making and selling!

bipolarblogging

Bipolar life and times

Button Tins

A bit of crafty talk

Aberrant Crochet (TM)

If you like what you read, please comment, subscribe and share with friends! Thanks for joining my world!

Map of Time | A Trip Into the Past

Navigating Through Someplace Called History

The Green Dragonfly

A site about creativity, crochet and fun crafts with children

Crochet By Darleen Hopkins

Crochet tips, tricks and patterns

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

